Can I be both Catholic and be Saved?

Ok, before my question…here’s my background… I was baptized as a baby (Catholic) - never taken to church again. Became a born again Christian about 13 years ago. Since that time I have been totally in love with Jesus, trying to live my life so it pleases Him and have been certain that as His child, I will go to heaven when I die. About 3 yrs. ago I started studying the Catholic Faith & became convinced that this was the True Church that Jesus established. I was happily rec’d into the Church this past Easter. My question, although I don’t (and never did) believe in OSAS, is it wrong for me to assume I’ll go to heaven when I die? I find that Catholics are always sort of “well I hope so…” when it comes to heaven but I’m 100% certain because Jesus died on the cross for my sins, I believe it, and I live my life as a Christian. Not that I’m perfect - but that I ask for forgivness when I sin. So heaven IS in my future, I remain certain. Am I deceiving myself? Can I be both Catholic & Saved??

Carol Marie,

I’m not a Catholic but this issue concerns me as well. As I understand it, you can have “moral certainty” of your relationship with God. The point being that it’s always theoretically possible that we are self-deceived. But as long as we continue to repent of our sins and place our trust in Christ, then yes, we can be confident that we will be saved. Of course, we could conceivably fall away in the future–that’s the part that we really can’t be sure about. But that’s the adventure of Christian living. We just have to keep walking the walk moment by moment.

I don’t think being “saved” is primarily about going to heaven when we die, anyway. That is of course part of it. But salvation is being incorporated into Christ’s Body and living by His life. Our job is not to worry about our salvation but place it in Christ’s hands, and focus on loving our neighbor and glorifying God in everything we do.

Edwin