Can i buy a Mass for a living person?

Thx for response

If you mean "Can I have a mass offered for a living person?" the answer is yes.

[quote="1ke, post:2, topic:326247"]
If you mean "Can I have a mass offered for a living person?" the answer is yes.

[/quote]

This. No-one buys a Mass, they pay for a Mass to be offered for themselves or others.

The reason people bristle at use of the term “buy” is because it is a spiritual good obtained for a donation. The stipend is paid to the priest and sometimes is the chief way he earns money.

You can have a Mass offered for any person, living or dead, Catholic or non-Catholic, saint or sinner, or a group. As a receptionist in the parish, I have taken intentions for married couples, whole families, ministries in the parish, in thanksgiving to Mary, St. Anthony, beloved relatives. You can offer a Mass for Barack Obama or Nancy Pelosi if you want.

If the Mass is for a deceased person, the intention is usually for the repose of his/her soul. If for a living person, it is for his/her special intentions.

Yes.

Can I be bothered to read three posts totaling eight lines before responding to a question that has already been answered? Apparently not.

On the right track --but still need a further clarification.

not “pays”

but “gives an offering”

This is beginning to sound like a semantic battle about “praying” to saints.

Paying is what you do with money. One can pay a donation or pay a fee. The Mass stipend is a donation that is freely offered. But I really don’t see a problem with saying that it is “paid” to the priest in support of his work.

Hmmm, we need a campaign to have as many Masses said as possible for Obama, Pelosi, Biden and all pro-abort politicians.

It isn’t the word ‘paid’ but the word ‘buy’ that is the issue. You ‘buy’ something material - a house, car, computer, plane ticket.