Can I pay for a Mass to be offered for a living person?

It seems that Mass is always offered for a deceased person. Can I request a Mass for a living family member?

Of course!

Yes, of course. Just tell the priest or the secretary that it’s a Mass for the living and they will give you a card to send to the person indicating that a Mass is being offered in their honour.

Yes and it is a very good idea! After all, the Church teaches that this is the best possible prayer

“A great doctor of the Church, St. Anselm, declared that a single Mass offered for one-self during life may be worth more than a thousand celebrated for the same intention after death.”

Yes, and if the reason is very private (e.g., for their conversion, recovery from alcoholism or addiction, crisis pregnancy/contemplating abortion, etc.) and you don’t want a lot of people asking why you are having a Mass said for that person, you can ask the parish secretary to just list it in the bulletin as a “special intention” rather than listing the person’s name.

Technically, of course, you cannot pay for a Mass for any purpose! The Mass is the gift of God, paid for by the priceless sacrifice of Jesus.

It is appropriate, however, to offer a donation to defray the (ever-increasing) expenses of the parish or the order whose priest offers the Mass, whether for your intention, your wedding or your funeral.

If, however, you wanted to request a Mass and were unable to make a donation it would not be appropriate (or licit) for the priest to refuse to offer the Mass.

Just being picky . . .:wink: