Can I start RCIA, now?

I have been studying and praying over my conversion for 4 years. I believe I have a well grounded understanding of the Catholic faith. I accept the teaching of the Church, ALL the doctrines of the Church. I pray the rosary and ask for the intercession of the Saints. I was wondering if a priest would be willing to let me start RCIA now? I know I have to talk to the priest in person of course. I also wanted to know if I could be confirmed in a different diocese, because of an emergency I have been attending Mass in a different diocese for the past month?

[quote="Lead_Me_Home, post:1, topic:183107"]
I have been studying and praying over my conversion for 4 years. I believe I have a well grounded understanding of the Catholic faith. I accept the teaching of the Church, ALL the doctrines of the Church. I pray the rosary and ask for the intercession of the Saints. I was wondering if a priest would be willing to let me start RCIA now? I know I have to talk to the priest in person of course. I also wanted to know if I could be confirmed in a different diocese, because of an emergency I have been attending Mass in a different diocese for the past month?

[/quote]

Lead me Home:

The policies are different in different Dioceses and, sometimes, are different in different parishes. The best thing to do is to call the parish closest to where you're going to be spending most of your time, and ask for an appointment to talk to one of the priests. before your appointment, make a list of the books & articles you've read in your research. When you talk to your parish priest, explain just what you explained here, and don't be afraid to ask and answer questions, or to ask for "Private Instruction" if an RCIA Class isn't available.

RCIA was unheard of until the 1970's. before then, most converts to the Catholic Church received "Private Instruction" at the hands of a priest or other Sacred Minister.