Can it be true that 1 + 1 = 1?

Can you have 1+1 = 1? Generally it seems not. But God the Father is one person and God the Son is one person. What happens when you have God the Father and God the Son, i.e., 1+1? You get 1 because Jesus says I and the Father are One. How can it be that one person plus one person is one?

I’m no expert, but God cannot be measured by our meager mathematics. Besides that, shouldn’t it be 1+1+1=1? Referring to the Trinity.

John 10:30 is not speaking of “persons” being “1”. It is speaking of unity of purpose of both the Person/Being of the Father and Person/Being of the Son. See John 5:17, and the context of Jesus working in John 10 in harmony with the Father.

1+1 does not equal 1 (except in the concept of unity of purpose, as at-one-ment, such as husband and wife, team, family, etc 4 gospels, the OT and NT).
1 +1 may equal 2, and/or it may equal Duo (2 working together harmoniously).

The only problem with that is that unity of purpose would not imply the divinity of Jesus and this passage is often invoked to support the divinity of Jesus. You can have the same purpose as the Divine Being without being divine yourself.

Except that the remaining context of John 10, including verse 30, demonstrates the Deity of Jesus. What it doesn’t demonstrate, is that the Person/Being of the Son, is the same as the Person/Being of the Father.

A perfectly valid expression in Boolean mathematics.

I was reading a book about the Arian crisis by Rod Bennet recently. One thing that I found interesting was a comment he made relating the Trinity to a black hole.

With black holes, we cannot really know what it’s like inside one. It bends our reality too much for a true understanding. But by looking at what’s around it and through other observations, we can know what a black hole is not andas we learn more about what it’s not, we’re left with what it is even if it makes no sense to our minds.