Can Laity pray the Liturgy of the Hours?

I heard that it is a mortal sin if priest do not pray the Liturgy of the Hours unless they cannot physically do it.

But can Laity, if they wished to, at any point just pray the Liturgy of the Hours? Or is Laity forbidden to pray it?

Thanks.

Yes of course you can pray the liturgy of the hours. Why do you think this would be forbidden?

The Liturgy of the Hours is the official prayer of the Church. Anyone can pray it, at church, at home, in a park, the subway…

I hope so. I have been for 15+ years :D;)

Of course you can! And you should try it – it will change your life.

[quote="JD27076, post:1, topic:290476"]
I heard that it is a mortal sin if priest do not pray the Liturgy of the Hours unless they cannot physically do it.

But can Laity, if they wished to, at any point just pray the Liturgy of the Hours? Or is Laity forbidden to pray it?

Thanks.

[/quote]

Yes! I have been doing it for 12 years.

I might also point out that most seminarians are required by the discipline of their particular house to pray at least some part of it, namely the hours which are done communally, and are encouraged to continually deepen their devotion to such. The only seminarians who are not lay people are the deacons about to be ordained to the priesthood, and so there is some instance where laymen are in some way obligated to pray it. Of course, in this case, there is no canonical obligation to pray it--only clergy and religious are obligated to do so by canon law.

-ACEGC

[quote="edward_george, post:7, topic:290476"]