Can Priests Adopt Children?

Hey, I know for sure I’ll be entering seminary in 2 years and like 99.9% sure the priesthood is what God is calling me to. But, I really love children! My uncles and aunts just had kids, and my baby cousins are really adorable and funny. Is it possible? To adopt a baby or something even if I am priest? Im also a musician so I’ve always wanted to raise a little mozart, or just like the Bach family, raise generations of talented musicians.

Priests can be married in the eastern rites of the Church, I am no expert on that as I am Latin Rite.

Your enthusiasm is fantastic. But, remember marriage is a vocation, just as the priesthood is. :thumbsup:

Hope someone from another rite will guide you here.
this should go into the vocations forum really, I think…?:confused:

Oh, you said adopt. Caught that at the end there.

Well, if you know you want to be a father, yet deny the child a Mother, I would say you need to pray harder about this.

I have heard of a few, very rare, situations where clergy or religious were allowed to adopt orphans. I do not remember any of the circumstances including Father wanting to raise a little Mozart, but instead usually an identified need. It seems in one circumstance in particular that I recall, the priest was also a direct relative to the children.

In short, I’d say don’t bank on it. You’ll most likely be sorely dissapointed. Priests may be godparents. You might look into that avenue in the future.

That was my concern, as well, to intentionally deprive a child of a mother. Maestro, you are obviously so full of life, loving, and a caring person… If you become a priest, you will have a whole flock of children (with plenty of Mozarts in the mix, I’m sure). :thumbsup:

The priest who founded my church, Monsignor Gleisner (sp?) adopted I think 3 boys. Of course this was a hundred years ago. I don’t know the particulars like if the parents died or whatever, I just know back then it wasn’t against cannon law.