Can Priests Make "House Calls" For Confession?

I’m fairly new to the Catholic Church (received in Easter 2005). I was just thinking about this. My health is getting to a point where I am more and more unable to attend Mass, let alone go to confession. I have never been on oxygen, but now am on it full time. I am a carrier of the Merca virus which is very communicable and can be very serious. Since most people at my parish hold hands during the Our Father and shake hands twice during Mass, I’m very apprehensive to go for fear of spreading it to them, as well as getting sick myself since I have such a compromised immune system, even though I carry a small container of hand sanitizer. I also have a chronic cough. :frowning:

Having said all that, I know that priests can give absolution to those in hospital settings (I experienced that firsthand), but can priests take confessions in a persons home outside of the confessional? :shrug:

I am sure that a priest can visit you at home to hear your confession. Priests visit people in hospital to hear their confession. The use of the confessional is not compulsory. In fact, I think it’s the penitent’s choice (in theory) - you may want anonymity or face-to-face confession. I would imagine the primary consideration would be that the privacy required is maintained, i.e. no one in your home could overhear your confession. It would probably be advisable for you to discuss this with your parish priest or chosen confessor.

On a separate note, you say you have the Merca virus. This is usually used to mean methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA), which is actually a bacterium not a virus. Your family doctor should be able to advise you on how you can minimise the risk of infecting others.