Can someone summerize "personal Lord and Savior"?

. . . . and does anyone have any history on this expression?

damn Protestants…that and “accepting Jesus into my heart”…lol j/k. Actually I’ve never actually researched that. Should be interesting.

[quote=mark a]. . . . and does anyone have any history on this expression?
[/quote]

No history, but I have an insider’s perspective.

The expression is an attempt to identify the difference between knowing Christ person-to-person and just knowing “about” him.

If I studied some famous person a lot, I’d know so much about him I might almost be able to anticipate what he would do or say in a given situation. But I wouldn’t personally know him.

Many people just “go through the motions” of Christianity. They enter the church, they do their thing, they leave the church, but nothing has happened. They believe that Jesus is the savior of the world, but they do not know whether he has saved them personally.

But Jesus spoke of those who have passed from spiritual death into life (John 5:24). St. Paul spoke of those who have been saved by grace through faith (Ephesians 2:8). St. John wrote

He that hath the Son, hath life; and he that hath not the Son of God, hath not life. These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye might know that ye have eternal life. (1 John 5:12-13)
Although it is proper to speak of Christ as the savior of the world, it is still true that many in the world will be lost. Those who are saved, if they are of the age and mental competency to be accountable, are saved through a personal reationship with Jesus Christ.

Those who are saved, if they are of the age and mental competency to be accountable, are saved through a personal reationship with Jesus Christ.

Sounds like Protestant theology to me.

Still doesn’t answer the question on the history of this statement.