Can you help me explain from the bible why the Church teaches that non-Christians may be saved, too?

A friend of mine belongs to a non-denominational church and asked me why the Catholic Church teaches that non-Christians have a chance at salvation.

Can you guys help me explain this belief from the bible? (the Catechism isn’t going to hold any weight with her).

She likes to use the verse "I am the way, the truth, and the life, nobody comes to the Father except through me’.

She likes verses…I’d appreciate as many you guys can give me (with some exegesis if you don’t mind since I’m not very good at this yet).

Thank you!

Perhaps these:
John 15:21-24 But all these things they will do to you for my name’s sake: because they know not him who sent me. If I had not come, and spoken to them, they would not have sin; but now they have no excuse for their sin. He that hateth me, hateth my Father also. If I had not done among them the works that no other man hath done, they would not have sin… (this passage shows that one must “hear” the Word properly in order to be guilty)

Luke 12:47-48 That servant who knew his master’s will but did not make preparations nor act in accord with his will shall be beaten severely; and the servant who was ignorant of his master’s will but acted in a way deserving of a severe beating shall be beaten only lightly. Much will be required of the person entrusted with much, and still more will be demanded of the person entrusted with more. (this passage shows how the degree to which someone knows the Truth is how he will be judged)

Exodus 22:21 You shall not wrong a stranger or oppress him, for you were strangers in the land of Egypt…If you do afflict them, and they cry out to Me, I will surely hear their cry; and My wrath will burn, and I will kill you with the sword… (this verse prefigures the protection of those innocently outside the faith…it at least shows God’s mercy extends t “outsiders”):smiley: