Candidate for Confirmation...Such thing as being "too Catholic"?

Hi everyone… I’m a partially-deaf college student who has a strong Pentecostal background, including a baptism back in May of this year (2008).

I am converting to Catholicism and am anticipating every move that the Lord and I make together as I draw closer to finally being able to take in His precious Body and Blood.

I went to our unversity’s Newman Club (Catholic Campus Ministry) Mass this past Saturday, it’s quite upbeat/contemporary but I was so drawn into the worship that I was beginning to cry. Not only that, but I told the Deacon that I just about had to grab my hands because I was about ready to start praising with my hands in sign language, which I normally do when I’m moved by the Holy Spirit to worship Christ deeper. I normally do not sign unless I’m teaching someone sign or am around deaf or am doing a drama ministry.

The Deacon told me (we had gotten in touch over the summer) that he was surprised that I participated in Mass and that I made the Sign of the Cross since most Protestants do not.

There was a young lady who had a mental disability that just made me blubber… She took in the Body of Christ and looked at her dad and said, “It’s Jesus… Jesus!”

That moment I knew just where my heart wanted to go.

I do need prayers since I am a homosexual who is choosing to live a chaste life the best of my ability and with the strength of the Lord and the help of my patron saint, St. Jude Thaddeus.

I do pray my daily Three Hail Marys, and although I don’t pray it as often as I should, the Rosary. I also devoutly use the Sign of the Cross for substitute/word-less prayer and before and after I eat. I am really trying to incorporate more prayer into my life than before when I was in the Pentecostal church.