Cantor vs. choir member - raising hand during psalm

Recently the choir I sing in at Mass aquired a new member who switched from an earlier Mass. I believe she switched choirs to help us because onsome Sundays we were down to three singers (including the director on piano).

For the past two Sundays the new member has been telling me to raise my hand during the response on the psalm, because I happen to be standing in the middle. I am not a cantor. The director never said anything to me or anyone in the choir about doing this.

Two weeks ago our cantor could not attend our Mass. The director took cantor duties for the Mass, but had trouble figuring out the candance of the chant on that Sunday’s psalm’s verses. So he asked me to read the verses and he would sing the response (I am not experienced with chant but am with reading). It was right that Sunday for me to raise my hand to signal the response, since the director was also playing piano.

This past Sunday our cantor returned and sang the psalm from the ambo. This new member asked me right before the cantor began if I was going to raise my hand. I wanted to explain that I should not do that, but felt it would be too distracting, so I just said no, not going to. So what happened was she started doing it.

So we had both the cantor and a choir member signaling the congregation to sing the response. I feel that is something only the cantor should do. Am I right or wrong? Either way, I am not going to correct this new member. But I am curious. The situation feels strange to me.

Choirs are to facilitate congregational singing. Only the cantor should lead the responses. It looks pretty unnatural for the choir not to be in unison, almost like it would be if some wanted to stand, while others sit. Since the Director should be “directing” the members of the choir, that might be your first place to start, so this choir member will not be upset with you for not cooperating with HER direction.