Cardinal Pell: New Mass Translation next year! Priest facing East?

Cardinal Pell says the new Mass translation should be in use end of next year. :smiley: He also talks about South Africa already using it (though not legally) and the Priest facing East!!! Parts of an inteview are below but for the whole thing where he talks about Pope Pius XII and SSPX etc the link is provided.

catholicherald.co.uk/editor/index.shtml#e20032009

**Where do you think the liturgical development is heading? **

I don’t know. I’m not a professional liturgist. I am keen that we strengthen the vertical dimension of the liturgy, if we can, in the popular understanding, so that it’s very obviously not just community-centred, it’s God-centred, it’s an act of worship. I’m very sympathetic to that. I’m even sympathetic for the Canon of the Mass that the priest has his back to the people.

**As something obligatory? **

Yes. Now there’s nothing like a consensus in favour of that at the moment. I think I would be in favour of it because it makes it patently clear that the priest is not the centre of the show, that this an act of worship of the one true God, and the people are joining with the priest for that.

Another way of acknowledging that: I’m very much in favour of having a crucifix in front of the celebrant during the Mass when we’re facing the people.

**Between the priest and the people, in front of the altar? **

Yes, sometimes it might be flat, sometimes it might be vertical. But that distracts attention away to some little extent from the main celebrant. I think also I find the figure of Christ is a great aid to recollection and prayer while you’re saying the Eucharistic Prayer.

**As president of the Vox Clara Committee you have been advising the Congregation for Divine Worship on the new English translation of the Mass. Do you hope that the new translation will help to emphasise that vertical dimension of the Mass? **