Career decisions

I’m having a lot of stuff going on in deciding whether to stick with the medical school track or instead go and be able to get a BSN and take the RN exam. My brother who’s done some research into this, but is also not always reliable, claims that you don’t get enough money for the time you put into studying nursing. So, anyone who does know… do you make a decent amount? I’m wanting to get certified to be a midwife and either assist at homebirths (there are some states in which that’s all right) or work in a birthing center, but don’t know what would be the best decision.

Pray about what God has planned for you - and please consider a pro-life practice in whatever field of medicine you choose.

I think it depends on the type of nursing you’ll be doing…
I know nurses tend to make more at hospitals than they do at offices (due to the more difficult hours and shifts)… but I have no experience with birthing centers and how nurses rank there.

My sister just got her RN and starts her first job out of college in 2 weeks… she’ll be working in the NICU at a local hospital…
I think (I forget… I know she mentioned it, but I have a horrible memory) she’ll be making in the range of $18-$22 per hour… which works out to the upper $30s to mid-$40’s per year… not bad for a first job!

Hope that helps!