Catholic doctrine versus catholic dogma

Is doctrine and dogma held by the Church as equals?

As far as I can tell (and I’m no expert), the main difference between the two words is that “doctrine” comes from a Latin word, while “dogma” is an actual Greek word.

It may be that “doctrine” refers to Catholic teachings in general, while “dogma” more often refers to one particular teaching, like the dogma of the perpetual virginity of the Blessed Virgin.

Read Jimmy Akin on dogma and doctrine:

ncregister.com/blog/jimmy-akin/what-are-dogma-doctrine-and-theology

So that means if the Church holds as Doctrine that Mary is CoRedemptrix as a Catholic I would have to believe as Dogma? If I don’t, is it considered sin?

Hello Houseofsaul.

No. Things move out of doctrinal discussions into a dogma. Once it gets to be infallibly defined as dogma, you’re bound to accept it. If it is only in the discussion stage and remains a familiar teaching then you can accept or reject it. Titles of Mary are good examples. Go through her Litany. In it you will experience both doctrine and dogma. Think of it this way: dogma has more weight and you are correct, it would be a sin against faith to reject dogma. Doctrine can contained disciplines which do change from time to time. Some doctrine is binding, so not. One that gets folks hot under the collar is Mary as Mediatrix of Grace. It is okay to believe that Mary is a Mediatrix od Grace. The grey area is when the word “All” gets added to the title as in Mediatrix of All Graces. But for this example I think it shows how it rolls. Get it?

Glenda

P.S. The Church would never hold anything as Dogma that isn’t part of our revealed truth. Nothing can be added to or taken away from the set Dogma we call our faith. It can be elaborated upon though and we grow in understanding all the time.

You may find Fr. Hardon’s definitions helpful, in his Modern Catholic Dictionary. Below are linked the entries from Catholic Culture’s online edition:

Doctrine