Catholic history vs. Baptist history

I am new to the Catholic faith as I grew up Baptist. My question is, why is the Catholic and Baptist history timeline so different? The Baptist timeline states they are directly descendant from the “original” Church, but all other history points toward the 16th century and Thomas Muentzer(i think!). Is the rest of the world correct or is it just a big “conspiracy” against the Baptists? All I have ever heard was that the Baptists were the only ones directly from the original Church, but after really reading and studying (before deciding to convert) it seems to me that is not true. Any insight would be helpful!! Thanks!

I have met (online) plenty of Baptists who have no problem acknowledging that their faith tradition originated around the 16th century. So not even all Baptists buy the “trail of blood” theory. Here, for example, is a thoroughly baptist link that acknowledges that the best historical evidence is that Baptists came into existence some 400 years ago.

baptisthistory.org/baptistbeginnings.htm

Not all Baptist hold to that stuff. Some are historically honest. The folks who try to tell you that they date back to Christ and the apostles are writing fiction and calling it history in an effort to give themselves credence.

Next time some Baptist attempts to foist that on you show him this quote from Ignatius of Antioch

[size=] CHAP. VII.–LET US STAND ALOOF FROM SUCH HERETICS.