Catholic judges in death penalty cases

I have been a criminal defense lawyer for several years and am interest in becoming a judge. My only concern is that, as a devout Catholic, I would be facing a moral dilemma when hearing cases in which the prosecution seeks the death penalty. I live in an area that is heavily pro-death penalty, so I would almost be assured of being voted out if I kept ignoring the prosecution’s execution request.

Could someone please point me towards some more information? I tried Googling and found an academic paper on the issue, but not much else. Thank you :slight_smile:

A Catholic can, in good conscience, support the death penalty, or at least view it as a legitimate act of the State.

“For example, if a Catholic were to be at odds with the Holy Father on the application of capital punishment or on the decision to wage war, he would not for that reason be considered unworthy to present himself to receive Holy Communion. While the Church exhorts civil authorities to seek peace, not war, and to exercise discretion and mercy in imposing punishment on criminals, it may still be permissible to take up arms to repel an aggressor or to have recourse to capital punishment.” - Cardinal Ratzinger as head of the CDF.

There is no room for the death penalty when there are alternatives such as life in prison. There is no ambiguity on this.

Reference CCC 2267

***If, however, non-lethal means are sufficient to defend and protect people’s safety from the aggressor, authority will limit itself to such means, ***

The Church is absolutely crystal clear on this. Catholics cannot support the death penalty in a modern society where there are non-lethal means of protecting innocent life.