Catholic Marriage (Finally!) in Late 40's

Like many couples we are middle-age Catholics and "living together." This is primarily for economic reasons, but not without a foundation of love. I reintroduced my fiance to his Catholic faith and we're on fire, so on fire we want to pursue a Catholic marriage and are ready to go through the instruction. Before we approach our priest with the honest fact we're cohabitating, how badly is it frowned upon to be living together during this process of marriage preparation?

I am no expert but I don't think the fact that you are co-habitating for financial reasons is the real problem. If you are engaging in sex outside of marriage that would be the problem. I think living in the same place in different rooms might be acceptable to save money. At the same time, don't let anything hold you back from returning to the Church. Go talk to the priest. It is not he who judges you and God is loving and merciful. The best thing is to simply go and find out what you need to do to get back into the grace of God and to return to be married in the Church.

[quote="omgosh1962, post:1, topic:251756"]
Like many couples we are middle-age Catholics and "living together." This is primarily for economic reasons, but not without a foundation of love. I reintroduced my fiance to his Catholic faith and we're on fire, so on fire we want to pursue a Catholic marriage and are ready to go through the instruction. Before we approach our priest with the honest fact we're cohabitating, how badly is it frowned upon to be living together during this process of marriage preparation?

[/quote]

cohabiting: to live together as husband and wife, usually without legal or religious sanction.
Are you in fact cohabiting or are you living at the same place?

. Before we approach our priest with the honest fact we're cohabitating, how badly is it frowned upon to be living together during this process of marriage preparation?

[/quote]

welcome home