Catholic marrying in Protestant church - advice please

A quick back story. I am a practising Catholic. I am marrying a girl who has, by happen chance, been baptised but not raised as a Catholic and is profoundly agnostic. She has accompanied me to Church of late but does not participate. She is happy that any offspring be raised as Catholics.

I am a serving soldier in the Army - which I am shortly leaving - and so do not know the parish priest of the place where we have bought a house together, and wherein we intend to live upon marriage.

I have stipulated that the marriage or service must be a Catholic one. My gf is content with this but is adament we should be married in the Protestant church in the village. She does this on the grounds of aesthetics and of the fact that this is where we will be living, as to her denominations are irrelevant. It is worth pointing out that prior to the reformation the Church was a Catholic one.

The vicar of the church in which we hope to marry has given us the thumbs up. He says that we are ok to have a Catholic mass and a Catholic wedding service. However, from what I can make out, she says that for legal reasons he would have to oversee the vows and signing of the book. **Question 1: would this compromise the validity of the sacrament?