Catholic nurses/healthcare workers here?

I’m in level 1 of the RN program at my college, and I’m so curious to hear about Catholic healthcare workers’ stories, if there are any here willing to share! What kind of work do you do? Anyone at a Catholic hospital? Any moral dilemmas that seem to happen consistently?

I have no idea what I want to do specifically, except I would love to work for a pro-life pregnancy center.

1 Like

I have no healthcare background whatsoever, but I want other people to see the discussion, so here you go.

1 Like

Thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have worked in a Catholic hospital for 25 years. I started as Chaplain or more technically, Lay Ecclesial Minister/ Extraordinary Minister of Holy Communion. I then became Director of Spiritual Care. After about 20 years we restructured and I had to add another role, Director of Mission Integration and finally all that changed again so now I am Manager of Formation and I still do Spiritual Care.

All that said, I want to point out that these days in Catholic Hospitals there is a need for people in Mission Integration. That consists of Ethics, Spiritual Care, Formation and Community Benefit. In Formation we tend to the spiritual enrichment of all the associates with programs and reflections.

2 Likes

My wife is a physician, but not a Catholic so I don’t think that helps you. We do have a Catholic friend who is a pharmacist who declines to fill prescriptions for “Plan B”, and as far as I know she hasn’t had any issues. :man_shrugging:

2 Likes

Good to know! I don’t plan on working in a field where I’ll have to object to certain things, but ya never know how the secular world of medicine will evolve and throw me into that situation.

I would love to provide spiritual care as well as physical.