Catholic professors

Hello,

I am a student in college and am interested in becoming a professor in systematic theology in the Catholic tradition. I was wondering why there are so few professors/jobs in this field at the top institutions in America? In other words, is it an almost futile task - to try to become a professor who specializes in Roman Catholicism? It seems that way, but I'm not sure why that is. Thoughts?

[quote="John_Yuhu, post:1, topic:277373"]
Hello,

I am a student in college and am interested in becoming a professor in systematic theology in the Catholic tradition. I was wondering why there are so few professors/jobs in this field at the top institutions in America? In other words, is it an almost futile task - to try to become a professor who specializes in Roman Catholicism? It seems that way, but I'm not sure why that is. Thoughts?

[/quote]

You are talking about which course?
In theology, generally the specialization is greater: New Teatament, Old Testament, dogma, Morals, Casuistics and so on.
Are you talking about a Professor for a Humanity course?

I'm just wondering why there are so few professors at the top Ivy religion departments who specialize or have a research interest in Roman Catholicism.

[quote="John_Yuhu, post:3, topic:277373"]
I'm just wondering why there are so few professors at the top Ivy religion departments who specialize or have a research interest in Roman Catholicism.

[/quote]