Catholic Teaching for Pharmicists

I have been trying to find out more information on exactly what the Church teaches in regards to pharmaceuticals. I know very well the teachings of *Humanae Vitae * and have been in classes studying Christopher West’s Good News About Sex and Marriage, but I’m a new pharmacy technician and was wondering how to handle situations that could be controversial, such as selling birth control and other abortificents. I have no problem standing up for my faith, as I was fired from my previous job for being pro-life in regards to Planned Parenthood, but I want to know how to tell the difference between someone who sincerely needs a medicine (i.e. birth control) for medicinal needs rather than just someone who is trying to avoid getting pregnant, and what to do in that situation.

Thanks and God Bless!

There’s no way for you to know that.

Let me clarify my question then:
Since there is no way to tell the difference, should I act on the side of being safe and refuse birth control to everyone or give everyone the benefit of the doubt? What is the church’s stance on these situations?

Check with your local Bishop - he will have a clear set of guidelines for you to follow.

Thank you for caring. :thumbsup:

I’m afraid that info is none of your business, If you think you really feel that you are entitled to know just because you work there, then you might be better suited to a different type of job.

Nothing personal, but I am one of those people who would have you fired on the spot for refusing to sell me something for which I had a prescription. In my own personal medical situation, I don’t take advice of any nature from anyone other than my doctor.

With all due respect, a pro-life pharmacy tech does NOT know more than an Medical doctor.

I applaud your cause, but if I were you, I would consider a job change.

DancingforJesus,