Catholicism and history

(I’m not 100% whether this topic belongs to apologetics or not. I sincerely hope I haven’t stepped on anyone’s toes by posting this here!).

I’m a college student of history, and I’ve always loved and adored history. As well as that, I have begun the journey to deepen my faith by questioning it and to learn more about it. I can safely say at this point, that I’m ‘in love’ with Catholicism. However, I find my biggest stumbling block isn’t Mary, the saints, the Pope, or even purgatory. It’s the actual history of the Catholic church.

I’ve attending lectures in the past where the lecturer has made out the blessed Eucharist to be some sort of nonsense that the Popes imposed in response to protestantism. Also, I’ve been reading in a book about the Avignon Papacy where the author of the book basically makes out that Catholicism is a joke. I know and realise that I could respond to this by thinking that this is simply anti-Catholic sentiment, but I still have to wonder why did the Church receive such a bad name in history?

I also realise that while some of the people belonging to the Church are sinners, that by no means reflects the Church itself. But why are some Popes seen as such villains in history? - I mean, some Popes are depicted as interfering with secular politics, corrupting, and lusting for power. Is this just all an exaggeration of actual history, or is it fact? If it is fact, I’m at a loss why God would allow such people as the head of His appointed Church.

Please don’t think I myself am anti-Catholic, because I am certainly not. I’m just looking for answers on how to reconcile history with faith.

History is awesome!
I found the greatest course that covers the history of the Catholic church:
thegreatcourses.com/courses/the-catholic-church-a-history.html

Now, don’t get it from that site. They want $200 just for the downloadable audio course.