Catholicism is not a denomination - do I understand correctly?

Hello! Recently a Protestant friend and I were discussing some of the beliefs of the Catholic Church. She saw Catholicism as one denomination of Christianity among many, while I saw it as the Universal Church - not a denomination, but rather the unity of Christian churches in communion with Rome. (I have heard that the term ‘denomination’ implies schism or seperation, in a way; it means ‘to take a new name’.)

Do I understand this correctly? I’m new to Catholicism and I don’t want to explain it to others more badly than I have to.

(Apologies ahead of time if I’ve posted in the wrong forum - I thought that the thread fit in with “comparing and contrasting beliefs”.)

For most or many Protestants, the Catholic church is just one “tradition” of Christianity among many…Methodists are another…Anglicans are another…Lutherans are another…Orthodox are another…“denomination” are all…though a few would not accept the appelation…Catholics among them.

Yes. Your explanation is perfect. Catholicism existed before any Christian denomination (Catholicism was Christianity, as per the early Church Fathers, etc.) for centuries. The Church compiled the Bible, etc. All Protestant denominations owe their beginnings to the Catholic Church.

There are denominations, yes, and there is the Catholic Church, the one Universal church comprising of 23 sui iuris (particular) churches, all in communion under the Vicar of Christ, and “God’s representative” the Holy Father.

The denominations are only “ecclesial communities” because they have not valid orders.

The Orthodox have valid orders, and even though are schismatic, are an apostolic Church with valid sacraments, and we pray for reunification.

It is really difficult to wrap my head around the concept that the denominations are not really churches at all! Especially when the sign over the door says …Church, etc.