Catholics and Evolution

I’ve read about this subject, and I know the church’s say on it, but what about you all? Do you think that a God driven evolution is plausible for genesis? Or do you reject it entirely, and embrace the more “creationist” viewpoint that evolution is total bunk?

I am a PhD student. I couldn’t do a lot of my research if I didn’t believe in evolution. For instance we believe that the important residues in a protein tend to be conserved through evolution whilst the less important filling-in type residues tend to change. If we couldn’t make these types of observations our ability to do biochemistry would be seriously compromised.

The Church fairly says that evolution is a good theory (not total fact) for the beginning of the world. It is totally compatible with faith, imho.

that’s how I feel! It’s funny though, at my school everyone is fundamentalist, and it almost feels like you can’t be a christian and accept evolution and other science

Thats the way my family is, they flat out reject evolution and many other things that are mainstream science. I personally put all my stock in it, but my family…yikes. They’re Southern Baptist fundies* and they really scare me sometimes.

*is that term okay to use here? its used a lot on atheist forums I frequent but I’m not sure if its offensive or not to religious folk. I hope its not offensive…

Boy, I’d love to be a fly on the wall, on holidays!:eek:

I have to be honest, it’s probably not the best word to use. That and I think the rules say you shouldn’t just because it offends some.

anyway, yeah I know. I feel like evoution and creation aren’t mutually exclusive. I’ve been studying it alot lately. The bible isn’t s cience textbook, but the order of creation follows with what evolution says things happened! It’s rather remarkable how well they line up actually.