Changes In Divine Office From 1960 Breviary

Hello. I recently began praying portions of the Divine Office from the 1960 Breviarium Romanum, mostly because it contains so many more Psalms and traditional prayers which have been stricken from the current Liturgy of the Hours. I also must admit that I found many of the translations of Scripture in the current LOTH to be less spiritually satisfying than the Biblical versions I tend to favor, Douay-Rheims and RSV-CE. Since I’m a layman and not canonically bound to recite the Office, I used to pray Morning and Evening Prayer from the modern LOTH and just substitute RSV-CE or DR psalms and canticles for those contained in the current texts. I even would pray the Office of Readings a few times a month, although you lose continuity if you don’t do it daily. In any event, I was excited to find the online resources I’m now using to pray the pre-Conciliar Office.

One thing I’ve noticed, however, is the source of my question today: In the texts provided by the excellent website Divinum Officium and the companion iOS App, Breviarium Meum, in Lauds and Vespers just before the closing prayers the notation “Weekday Intercessions {omit}” appears. This is, of course, the point at which the current LOTH text of Morning and Evening Prayer includes the Intercessions.

I haven’t been able to find anything on the Divinum Officium website to further explain this. Does anyone know (a) if there is a set of daily intercessions that was included in the 1960 Breviary, (b) if so, why are they omitted and where can I find them, and © if not, why the reference to weekday intercessions appears in the 1960 text?

I hope this makes sense. Thanks and blessings!

I have had to go the other way: from the Divine Office matching the old Mass to the LOTH (due to a community I am associated with)… and I never recall running across intercessory prayer in any format of that version.