Changing Churches

I have been attending a local Church of God now for the last 19 years. While I’m not Pentecostal my wife was raised in the church. I was raised in Southern Baptist but did not attend much as a child. So now it’s time to change churches for various reasons and my mother inlaw who is Pentecostal is giving my wife a very hard time about it even to the point of saying don’t deny the Holy Spirit by changing churches to the Southern Baptist.:confused: Anyway, I belive you recieve the Holy Spirit when Baptized and I think they(Pentecostal) think you only get it after speaking in tounges. Does anyone have any help for me?

Mother in law doesn’t count. Just you and your wife. You do understand that mother in law will be just as hostile to the majority faith of this website?

In matters of faith, your own heart should be your ownly guide. Your heart will lead you where you need to go, and when. Trust it, and frankly no one else. To do what another human wishes, any human, is a disservice to the spirit within who will guide you.

You received the Holy Spirit when you were baptised, in fact you became a Catholic when you were baptised. You were a Catholic for just a moment up until you became a member of some other church. You do not lose the Holy Spirit when you change churches, only when you sin. Your choice, your church.

Maybe these scripture verses will help you.

1 Corinthians 12:28 (New King James Version)

28 And God has appointed these in the church: first apostles, second prophets, third teachers, after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, administrations, varieties of** tongues.**

Note: tongues listed last…the Holy Spirit must be working in the other gifts even before “tongues” arrives on the scene.

For me…this is the “right on” passage from Paul:

1 Corinthians 12: 1-11 (New King James Version)

Spiritual Gifts: Unity in Diversity