Chanting

Happy New Year everyone!

As part of my “resolutions” I would really love to learn how to chant the Office. Currently I have the Farnborough edition of the Monastic Diurnal. I have no musical background at all, (do not know how to read music in any form) but would still love to be able to chant at least parts of the Office. Does anyone here have any suggestions and/or tips?

In Latin or in English?

For Latin, the main issue will be the hymns, the antiphons and the psalm tones.

For the psalm tones, even though some of them presented here are somewhat out-of-date, try this site, the basics are correct: Psalmody

You’ll need to learn how to interpret square notation though. This might help: Square notes

I would prefer Latin, but if English is easier then I could start with that. Ill check out the links.

It’s definitely easier in Latin, the rules are well established and the psalm tones are designed around Latin accentuation.

Is there any sites where I can listen to the chants as well? I’m reading through the other links and I’m having issues understanding, since I am musically illiterate hah.

Youtube and Google are your friends. You might not be able to find all the antiphons chanted there but certainly some of the more difficult ones. The antiphon “Hodie” for instance, for the Magnificat at Vespers on Christmas:

Hodie Christus natus est

Then find the musical score for it and follow along:

Hodie Christus natus est score

Basically it’s a 4 line staff; the higher the line, the higher the note. Superposed notes (one directly on top of the other, called a “podatus”), one goes from lower to higher. Otherwise, which ever note comes first, is the one chanted first.

During Advent and the Octave of Christmas www.Divineoffice.org had chanting in English of all or portions of the Hours. I even got very comfortable chanting the Morning Prayer, especially the Canticle of Zechariah, by the third day or so.