Chick Literature/Apologetics

I've posted a few times here and have always received great advice so I wanted to get some opinions on this situation.

I am a research librarian in a small, specialized library. Today, a patron initiated a discussion with me concerning where I go to church, am I saved and do I read the Bible. The patron asked me if I was going to heaven and if I was CERTAIN I was going to go to heaven. Personally, I don't know if that's my call to make. The patron then handed me some literature from Chick publications and asked me to read them.

The patron is a nice person and I really don't want to offend this person. But I know when we speak again, this individual will ask me about the tracts and what I thought about them. I came from a Protestant background and converted to Catholicism for a reason. I also know the publisher's of Chick Tracts are openly hostile to the Catholic faith. What should I tell this individual next time we speak?

Thanks

What were the Chick tracts you were given?

I say the best defense is a good offense. Research the claims those tracts make and get the correct information. When he asks you about them, you can honestly say you read them, and then you can give him the correct information.

Tell her that although you appreciate her concern for your spiritual well-being, Jack Chick has many misconceptions about many of the topics of which he writes. His claims range from bizarre to absolutely extreme (ex. the Vatican has the name of every Protestant on Earth on a supercomputer in preparation for another Crusade).

Provide Scripture passages that refute the eternal security heresy. Saint Paul's letters are ideal for this.