Children's Literature

Hello everyone,

I’m a stay-at-home mom wannabe author. Now that my youngest kid is in school, I’ve embarked upon my long-time dream of writing a children’s novel. (Sounds so ridiculous when I admit it publicly.) Anyway, the story I’ve started writing involves modern-day witches and their attempt to ruin the lives several young children. The children are good, churchgoing, polite, well-behaved, etc., and the witches are of the traditionally vile, black-hat-wearing sort who use magic for evil purposes. The children will eventually defeat the witches, of course, using their natural talents and intelligence (and very minimal violence).

So I am wondering – does any of this sound inappropriate from a Catholic perspective (I really hope that’s not a dumb question; I’ve got a long way to go in my Catholic journey). I know that stories about the defeat of dark powers in fantasy settings are acceptable (right?), but is it OK to write about bad scary witches in a contemporary setting?

Thanks for all your help!

I’ve written and published two juvie novels (see my website in my signature), and my third novel is due out soon.

You might do really well with the novel if you get a lot of protests from modern-day witches. Negative publicity has catapulted various books, plays, and movies to the top in recent years! OTOH, I think most witches would probably ignore your novel so as not to give you publicity.

My question is, how authentic will your story be? I personally enjoy reading children’s stories (and adult stories, too) that are well-researched and accurate. One of the reasons why I strongly dislike the Left Behind series is that the first novel, in the first 30 pages, contains TWO glaring errors about computers that could have easily been fixed IF the authors had bothered to ask any knowledgeable high school computer geek!