Children's Offertory/Collection

OK…this is about to drive me nuts…perhaps I need a vacation?! :slight_smile:

How common is it in Catholic parishes to have the children leap, jump, run, stagger, and otherwise make spectacles of themselves (actually, the adults making spectacles of the children is more accurate) in order to go to the front of the Church to put their money into the special basket just for the kids’ money?

I LOVE children (I’m a school teacher). but this practice, to me, takes all of the focus off of Christ and the Mass and puts it on “OH! Look how cute my kid is!”

Any comments from CAF members? Is this practice: common, appropriate, obnoxious, an abuse?

Sorry for the rant, but I can’t find any information on the practice (though local parishes, including the parish where I live, do it). AND, yes, I have written to the pastor about it…got no response (and I was much kinder in the letter than I was in this message! :)).

They do this at my home parish too, and I find it very annoying and disturbing. They don’t use a basket, but a large tin coffee can. Nothing quite like listening to a bunch of change being dropped into a tin can repeatedly to distract your attention to what’s going on at the Altar.

While I think it is a great concept to teach kids to give up some of their money to those less fortunate, I think the delivery needs some re-vamping.

While I’m the first to say that I intensely dislike any action designed to focus on cute kids during Mass, is something actually going on at the altar while the collection is being taken?

At our parish, the children bring non parishable food items for the local food bank. The children walk to the front where Father is standing holding a basket for the food and they have always been respectful. This is being done while the regular offering is being taken. It is a wonderful way for them to learn about “giving”
:thumbsup:

[quote="SisterSnowflake, post:1, topic:291698"]