Children's Prayers?

Hello all, I've a question about which prayers I should be teaching my children. I tried to use the search function, but apparently lack the appropriate skills, and the results were baffling.

My background is mostly Protestant rearing with sort of an Agnostic bent after college. I was Baptized into the faith 4 years ago, and have tried to live it well. My wife is, nominally, and Episcopalian, but has agreed to raise our girls Catholic. The first was conceived about 3 weeks after I made the decision to join the Catholic Church, so I took it as a sign :)

Anyway, our parish church, is about 45 minutes away, which can be kind of a struggle with two kids under 4, so we generally attend Mass at the local Monastery of St. Clare, which is only ten minutes from the house. It's more convenient, the Nuns love the girls, and I feel it's good exposure for the girls as well as they grow up to be around the Nuns.

However, there are no "Sunday School" classes for the kids, where they might normally be learning prayers and things about being Catholic. As I was not raised Catholic, I don't know much about all of the different prayers, but have been teaching them the ones I do know, mostly taken from the Rosary.

Every night at bedtime we say prayers with the girls, starting with the Our Father, followed by the Hail Mary, followed by one I think is called the Fatima prayer in the Rosary, and ending with the Guardian Angel prayer.

What else should I be teaching them? In another year or two, they'll be starting school, and we hope to get them into one of the local Catholic schools, where that part of their education will be handled by professionals. However, what should I be doing as their father, to get them ready for that?

Thanks in advance for any help and advice.

Casey

Sounds like you're doing a fabulous job, actually!

Do you pray before meals? One classic Catholic prayer before meals is: