Chivalry question

I have never done this before, but just the other day I was going into the library (eh, I have done that before). This library has a double-doored entrance with a breezeway, then another set of double doors. There happened to be a man standing there finishing up a cigarette (right next to the sign that says “No smoking near the entrance”). He very kindly opened the door for me. Here’s the tricky part. Since he had so kindly done this, I went through and waited at the next door (just a second or two–this is not a large building). He said, “Well, you really like service” and muttered something else under his breath that I didn’t catch. So, here’s my question: Was it right to wait at the second door, or was it presumptious? Opinions from men and women, please.

Small details in things like politeness and custom vary across the country.

As a young man from Texas (where I hold a lot of doors) I can only give you things from my perspective.

I could see him opening the first door but not the second if he was just standing outside but not going in, or perhaps he said what he thought was a witty comment to be sociable.

I too noticed that the rules seem different in different areas. When I moved to Austin for a couple of years I was always astonished that men opened doors for me so often, A couple of times a man got offended because I didn’t wait. Somehow, wearing a dress seems to make a difference. If I was wearing pants… less men felt the need to open doors and carry things for me.

So then I moved back to New Mexico. If I waited here for some man to open a door I might just be waiting outside for a couple of days. LOL

So If you were in Austin… he was being rude. If you were in New Mexico… You should have been extremely grateful for the first door. And remember what you are wearing seems to matter too. shrugs I haven’t tested any other places.