Christian Scientist.

Anyone here frequent these forums who are members of Christ Scientist?
I had an ex gf who’s family where members in this organization but they also played through with a lot of " pagan " ideas. It seems as if the Christ Scientist mix in other religions into the science of Christianity.

The only thing I don't like about the institution is the denile of Christ as the 2nd member of the trinity and God.  However I did think that Mary Baker Eddie's story is pretty impressive.

They are essentially the gnostics of old revived. They even go as far as to say the physical world doesn't really exist I believe.

The famous American writer H. L. Mencken once said of Christian Scientists: “They are fervent in their beliefs until they get sick and have to go to the doctor”.:wink:

I'm a life long Christian Scientist. There are many misconceptions about Christian Science that perhaps I can help with. We are not Scientology. Christian Scientists have the freedom to get medical care if desired. We are free to make our own health care choices. Moreover, isn't the public today seeing the benefits of spirituality and spiritual care with their health needs? Duke University has been studying such benefits. Pew research shows that about half of us pray for our health care. For more info see:

www.christianscience.com
spiritualityandhealth.duke.edu/
pewresearch.org/databank/dailynumber/?NumberID=310
faithandhealthconnection.org/complimentary-and-alternative-medicine-most-common-practice/

[quote="spiritualman, post:4, topic:299661"]