Christians gone wild

This morning, I was reflecting what brought me to the Catholic church. My background is I grew up in non-denominational churches that came out of the Jesus people movement of the 70’s. Over the last 15 years or so, I’ve watched many of these churches go off the beaten path and into the wild as the thread suggests. Wild doctrine, wild charisms, wild teaching, driven by a desire to have the newest “move” of the Holy Spirit duplicated at home. Generally speaking, I’ve seen a dramatic shift in the “non-denominational” churches with some main-line denominations in tow. From my observations, this pandemic of pop-culture Christianity seems to be wide-spread.

This shift caused me so much grief, that I had pretty much given up on attending church altogether. I thank God for finding the church to come home to.

I know the standard Catholic response is those churches are not following the “true church”. But, the Catholic church has had some of this blow through the doors as well. I’m hoping we can put aside the canned answers and flame-wars this thread could start. For cradle catholics, I doubt too many would know what I’m talking about. But I bet there are a few recovering Protestants out there who do.

Now that I’ve shaken the bee’s nest…:smiley:

I dont know what you want for a response since you dont really ask anything you are just making a statement of your POV from your experience.

Glad you are back in the Church!:slight_smile:

Oops,

What I was trying to do was start a thread on this topic and see if anyone else has noticed this trend or been in the same situation.

Very, VERY glad to be home!

Crossroads…Uh, .*…what *trend? :confused: