Christmas Toys

Has a question.

I work in retail and as everyone knows (at least in America) the Christmas Toys are starting to show up on the shelves. Well I was the person for the new Plan-o-Gram for the Christmas toys for this year. The store I work in is considered small compared to most. This may play a part in it. I know I will be looking in other toys this year to see this same pattern I am about to share with you. The thing that really bothered my about the Christmas toys the most was the boys toys. about 70% of their toys were nothing but military toys and guns( mostly guns). Yes I know boys play with guns and honestly that does not bother me, but the fact that the boys Christmas toys were such a high percentage of guns and war. Maybe it is just me noticing because I have been so involved with reading up on ISIS and what America should be doing and praying for the Middle East about the problems ISIS is creating. Or perhaps it is because we are in war so they are just making more war related toys. In the past I have not really noticed many guns and military toys for boys Christmas Plan-O-Grams until Bush invaded Iraq (and again perhaps I didnt notice before until war was in the media so much) but never have I seen such a high percentage on the set up. It just personally bothers and wondered if anyone else noticed and was bothered by the percentage of Boys Christmas toys being machine guns and bombs.

NOTE: I am not complaining about boys or children playing with guns.

Are you asking what the alternative ought to be?

We tried to get our children something each year that would be an unexpected surprise. What that would be will depend on the children and what they like to do.

Examples:
Headlamps. These are very fun for playing in dark parts of the house or playing outside after dusk. They are also nice to have for visiting the latrine in the middle of the night when you’re camping.