Church vs. Bible College?

Talking to my friend and i touched on how Protestants follow the interpretation of a Pastor who has studied the Bible in and out for many years at a “Bible College” (the quotes are not meant to convey disrespect, just that I do not know what these places are officially called, divinity schools perhaps?). In the end they follow the interpretation of a single man. Then I talked about how it is the Church who interprets for us and that the Church has the authority to interpret Scripture because it decided it (NT wise anyway).

She hit me with “aren’t all the officials in your Church men? So then you too follow the interpretation of men, except you just have a lot of them who have to agree on something before they present it to you.”

Usually after talk about that the other guy tried to reinforce SS so this threw me off.

Any suggestions?

FYI I am not a pro apologist…I taught confirmation and I used some basic apologist books as part of lessons but have not engaged in full apologetics IE Tim Staples yet.

thanks!!

Tell her,

Yes, the officials of the Church are men. Bishops successors of the Apostles. Jesus appointed his Peter as his Pope, and his Apostles to oversea the Church. When the Apostles die, they handed their authority to the bishops and the Pope.

Then you hit them with this question. "Where is it in the Bible that you ought to interpret the Bible by yourself? Does Scripture say, ‘There are some things in them hard to understand, which the ignorant and unstable twist to their own destruction, as they do the other scriptures.’ 2 Peter 3:16

Since 1517, you Protestants have broken into different Churches with varies doctrines. Yet, Paul taught that the teachings we received from him should be not be any different doctrine.