Clarification on Catholic teaching about IVF

I am a nurse and I want to get a clearer understanding about this so I am giving a hypothetical scenario.

A married couple tries to get pregnant, they are open to life but they are not blessed with a child after many tries. By the time they get checked by a doctor, they find out that they cannot physically get pregnant (both mom and dad). This couple wants to have kids that carry their genes and blood line. They think of IVF.

Here’s the question/s:

• is it still morally wrong for them to get IVF after having tried and given confirmation that they cannot conceive?
    -I know IVF includes the process of trying to fertilize embryos and is considered wrong because in order to successfully fertilize one, many had to be sacrificed first. With any medical procedure, there are risks some big, some small. Why is it still considered wrong when there is always that risk involved? Women do not fertilize every egg they have and that gets shed every month. So what is the difference?

It is always morally wrong to separate the procreation of children from the marital act. No matter what a couple’s story and circumstances might be, there is never a justification for creating children in a lab setting. IVF is never morally permissible.

I hope this article from the National Catholic Bioethics Center will help you:

ncbcenter.org/page.aspx?pid=317

Peace,
Ed

In vitro “fertilization” is immoral. There are no circumstances that could justify its use.

If egg is not fertilized, it remains an egg; it remains just a cell with incomplete genetic material. If it is fertilized by a sperm, it becomes a unique human child. To knowingly destroy a human child should be infuriating; if parents understood that so many of their children would be “sacrificed” in the process of IVF, I could not image they would begin the procedure.

I disagree with this reasoning. But I realise that I will be in the minority, at least on this forum.