Clockwise or Counter-Clockwise

So I was reading the thread regarding praying for a boyfriend’s conversion and followed a link to a page full of prayers asking for St. Monica’s intercession including a Chaplet.

Well…reading through the site I came across this little note.

Traditionally the Rosary is prayed clockwise

It grabbed me because for as long as I can remember I’ve always prayed the Rosary counter-clockwise! At the point where I choose a direction, I always go to the right. It just came natural to me. I never knew there was a “traditional” way to go about it.

But I’m sure it ultimately doesn’t matter either way so I’m not going to obsess over how I count my rosary beads. But it did sound like an interesting, light-hearted CAF poll. :thumbsup:

(And if this needs to be moved to a more light-hearted section of the forum, please don’t hesitate to do so)

So…when you pray the Rosary, do you count your beads clockwise or counter-clockwise?

I am just learning the rosary so this was an interesting question.

Here are web sites that say counter-clockwise, here, and another here, with a picture.

Here is a web site I think shows counter-clockwise, here, also with a picture.

Here is a web site that has a detailed picture, but I could not tell if their directions were for clockwise ot counter-clockwise, see here.

I did not vote because I do not know, the people who know the rosary will have to help me.

And for what it is worth, when I prayed the rosary last Sunday at 11:00 am Eastern Time, I prayed it counter-clockwise.

Thanks for the good poll and good question. :thumbsup:

I voted counter-clockwise…it would feel weird going the other way to me :shrug:

I’ve never thought about it but I realized that I go counter-clockwise. This could be because I’m right handed. Do any left-handers pray the Rosary in a clockwise direction?