cohabitation

is it wrong for two catholics living together to recieve
communion.

[quote=hot rod consolo]is it wrong for two catholics living together to recieve
communion.
[/quote]

If they are not married , yes it is.
If they are living “as brother and sister” i.e. not having sex, then I believe it’s NO

If they are sharing an apartment or house and are merely roommates and not having sex , again the answer is no.

But let me guess…you and your partner are a couple in every sense of the word, without the benefit of marriage and are having sex. Therefore you would be comitting a mortal sin.

I am not an expert,so anyone feel free to teach me if I am incorrect.
~ Kathy ~

our old preist that confirmed me never had a problem with our situation, i was just confirmed this year. he gave me my first communion.
now our new preist says i should not recieve.
are there any exeptions . we just cant be legally married right now.

is there a ceremony that you can be married in gods eyes and not in the states?

[quote=hot rod consolo]our old preist that confirmed me never had a problem with our situation, i was just confirmed this year. he gave me my first communion.
are there any exeptions . we just cant be legally married right now.

is there a ceremony that you can be married in gods eyes and not in the states?

[/quote]

No, you cannot be “married in god’s eyes” and have it be in secret-- secret marriages are not allowed in the Church. Your old priest did a grave disservice to you by condoning (either through ommission or through actions) your situation.

Your new priest is correct-- you are in a state of mortal sin. Unless you stop having sexual relations (whether you live in the same house or not) then you should refrain from the Eucharist until such time as you have gotten married. Your new priest cares for your soul-- listen to his counsel.

Why can you not get married?