College Bible Study Topic Ideas

Hello! I am a college sophomore, and I was asked to lead a mens’ small group bible study at my university’s catholic student center for the Fall 2019 semester. I am eager to do so, but none of the topics given by the organization who oversees the studies (FOCUS) are very interesting to me because I think that they are all either basic or have no interest in them, and I am reluctant to try and lead something I’m not fully behind for fear of doing a disservice to the men in my study. I brought these concerns to the person above me, and he said I could develop my own study, but he wants to review it first. I’m kind of at a loss for topic ideas, though, as everything I come up with is either too specific to keep going or too broad to effectively cover. I’m open to any and all suggestions. I’m looking to run it from 6-8 weeks. Thanks!

I’ve heard amazing things about ‘the great adventure’ bible study

A couple of thoughts off the top of my head…

I could imagine an extended study of the Psalms. They’re beautiful as poetry and they’re a lesson in how to pray.

I could also imagine focusing on some of the personalities in Genesis. Abraham and Sarah and others associated with them, Moses, David, Joseph. There are a lot of people there we could know better.

Hey check this out…it’s a free Catholic bible study that contains OT, NT and various topical studies…

http://www.agapebiblestudy.com/

Any decent Catholic bible study will have references to the Catechism of the Catholic Church and the Church Fathers and this has that. Some examples of topical studies are…Salvation History, The Beatitudes and The Eight Last Things.

As for studies that you might purchase, I recommend The Catechism Class…

It is more Traditional in nature and also references the CCC and Church Fathers.

Follow up with the NT persons Peter, Paul and the other apostles. John the Baptist, Mary etc