College Degree Helpful?

I’ve been considering a vocation while in college but as of late it has been growing on me. I feel guilty though because of the money my parents have spent for me to be educated. I’m going to finish my bba in accounting in may. I’m still very fishy with my vocation but part of me would be more at ease and comfortable that I could somehow put my degree to use. If I can’t, like I said I would feel very guilty. Please help me in my discernment.

In many cases the value of a degree lies in the fact that you earned it. I graduated with a BA in music and went to work as a director with the Boy Scouts. My seven years as a scout in my youth had more to do with my career choice than my degree, but the fact that finished a degree is what got me the job. Since then I have gone on to finish a MBA in finance and now am a senior analyst at a large bank. Nothing to do with music, but everything to do with a degree.

Don’t fret about not using an accounting degree to be an accountant. There is something out there to validate your time and expense.

Finishing a college curriculum to attainment of a degree indicates to a potential employer that you are diligent enough to work at a goal until you attain it.

Offhand, I’d say that quite a large number of university graduates work at a job that isn’t exactly what their degree is. Personally, I have an Associate Degree in Industrial Electronic Technology; after I retired, I earned a Bachelor’s in English, and have done graduate work in Linguistics; most of my career was spent in Petrochemical Engineering Research.

Your anticipated Bachelor’s Degree has widespread applications across the business spectrum… I wouldn’t be concerned at all about applying your training to a career. The degree simply gets you through the employer’s door; everyone endures a period of OTJ learning during the initial few years at a job. Don’t sweat the small stuff… (and it’s all small stuff…)