Conception vs Fertilization

Conception: is not the definition of conception when the fertilized egg implants to the uterus?

Since science holds that the moment the egg and the sperm unite, a human life is started, would it be more accurate to use the term fertilization?

E.g. “A human life begins at the moment of fertilization”

It just seems to me, that if I ever came across someone who supported abortion and also was scientifically knowledgeable, this point might come up in the argument.

Yes, I’ve been arguing about abortion for 8 years and I haven’t had someone notice this, but the possibility still exists, and in the name of science, accuracy seems important.

What do you guys think? Should those who are anti-abortion and pro-life begin using the term fertilization?

I think you are splitting hairs. Part of the definition of conception is fertilization when the word is used with regard to pregnancy.

Even more to the point, conception, is the very act of becoming fertilized, the inception of a pregnancy.

So, no, I would disagree with the use of fertilization and stick with conception.

It’s a worthwhile distinction as far as it goes. Ultimately, the “best” argument in defense of abortion is an appeal to agnosticism–that we don’t know when there is a new human. Their best argument fails because of the Deerhunter principle–meaning it is immoral to shoot into rustling bushes without knowing what it is you are unleashing deadly force on.

Watch out for people who try to play various popes and Church doctors against each other over “ensoulment”. The Church has addressed this explicitly. I blogged about it here: