Concerning the nature of the freewill

hi,
I’m new to catholism and have trying to better understand core things about the faith. Right now im having trouble understanding the individuality of the soul and the nature of its freewill. For example what differs between souls that allows them to make different decisions and what defines a soul as an individual. Our some souls lazy and some souls righteous and if so how did they become so. any input you may have on this topic will both be helpful and much appreciated…

-Brick

My limited understanding is this:

At baptism, we are all given Sanctifying grace. This is what enables us to even begin to be elegible for eternal salvation. Sanctifying grace is killed in us by mortal sin, and can only be restored through the Sacrament of Confession.

Through our actions, our prayers, attending Mass, and, above all, God’s own boundless generosity, we are also given Actual grace, which helps us grow in holiness.

Each soul, due to free will, will respond differently to different situations. Say, for example, two baptised people are both faced with the opportunity to commit “the perfect crime”. Person A, though baptised, hasn’t taken advantage of the graces poured out by God, and so has conditioned his free will to act in a selfish, immoral manner. Person B has taken advantage of the undeserved gift of God’s graces, and so has conditioned his soul to act in a completely different manner.

Or, to use a different metaphor: two people, initially identical in physical attributes, both decide to run a marathon. Person A runs maybe a few times a week, but mostly puts off training and sits around and eats a lot of fast food. Person B finds and follows a training schedule, eats nutritious foods, and gets plenty of rest. They started out in the same condition, but, due to their freely chosen actions, ended up with wildly different results.

So it is with our souls.

C