Confession heard outside of the church?

The church was locked during the whole time of confession today, and nobody had the keys to open it, so the priest was hearing confessions outside of the church away from the people waiting. Is this still valid? I’m fairly new to going to confession so I’m unsure of what rules there are and such.

Confession can be heard anywhere. How do you think chaplains hear the confessions of soldiers and sailors? There are church retreats out in the wilderness where priests hear confession. The confessional is just a tool to assist in the administration of the sacrament. It’s not a requirement.

Thank you. I know it was a pretty dumb question to ask, but like I said, I just started going back to church and I want to make sure that I’m doing everything right.

Did you really think they place they were held mattered?

Welcome back!! :hug3:

The place does matter.

Can. 964 §1 The proper place for hearing sacramental confessions is a church or oratory.
§2 As far as the confessional is concerned, norms are to be issued by the Episcopal Conference, with the proviso however that confessionals, which the faithful who so wish may freely use, are located in an open place, and fitted with a fixed grille between the penitent and the confessor.
§3 Except for a just reason, confessions are not to be heard elsewhere than in a confessional.

Hopefully the locked church constitutes a just reason. Unfortunately those who prefer to confess anonymously were denied that right.