Confession: number and kind?

I see a lot of responses on these threads about the nature of Reconciliation, that it should be just the kind of sins and the number of times committed. I have never heard of this before, in all of my Catholic studies. I am not an expert or a pro, but I even have an MA in Catholic Studies and have not encountered this. Where does it come from, and why hasn’t a priest ever corrected me on it? Even in the sacramental prep classes that I have instructed, the materials have never mentioned this.

I am interested in knowing where the practice comes from, and whether it is a requirement or not. Thank you!

[quote="Ophelia23, post:1, topic:306551"]
I see a lot of responses on these threads about the nature of Reconciliation, that it should be just the kind of sins and the number of times committed. I have never heard of this before, in all of my Catholic studies. I am not an expert or a pro, but I even have an MA in Catholic Studies and have not encountered this. Where does it come from, and why hasn't a priest ever corrected me on it? Even in the sacramental prep classes that I have instructed, the materials have never mentioned this.

I am interested in knowing where the practice comes from, and whether it is a requirement or not. Thank you!

[/quote]