Confession - Saying your sins out loud

I recently received the Sacrament of Confession. I originally scheduled a meeting and then a confession but after I talked to the priest he just said the words of absolution before I could say any of my sins out loud. I asked him about this and he said that the Church teaches that God knows all my sins and that it was unnecessary as long as those sins weren’t burning on my heart. I have had a confession with this priest before and all the sins I’ve committed he should already know about. Is this still a valid confession?

Thanks, NKaloms

I’m not an expert, but this sounds suspicious. Part of confession is acknowledging your sins. Also, how is the priest going to give you a proper penance if he does not even know what your sins were?

I would recommend that you go to confession to another priest, and not this one. He is mistaken; the Church explicitly teaches that “the disclosure or confession of sins to a priest is an essential element of this sacrament [of Reconciliation]” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, #1424).

This priest might be a nice man, but his theology is deficient. :man_shrugging:

Do you have a prior history of confession with this priest? If you commonly say the same sins every time perhaps he felt he already knew them enough to give absolution without you saying. For example, say a teenager always confesses the sin of impure thoughts each week, I could see a priest assuming he already knows what the teenager is going to say and just absolve the sins right away. Whatever his reasoning, I don’t think it is right to do this. The sacraments must follow a certain form, and I’m pretty sure that includes having to vocally confess the sins (number & kind). If this only happened one time, I would go back to the priest and discuss it with him. If he insists, see if you can find another priest for confession. Priests are not perfect. They can make mistakes or as Gorgias wrote, have deficient theology.