Confirmation name

I was born and raised Catholic to a degree…underwent baptism and first communion, but for a variety of reasons was never confirmed…I “came back” to my faith in 2001 and will be receiving the sacrament of confirmation at this year’s Easter vigil…I am not part of an RCIA program, only because I am a Catholic school teacher, and my priest felt there was no reason for me to attend because I am very familiar with church teachings etc…not to mention I don’t live in the city where I am being confirmed, and as such, cannot attend the weekly meetings (getting this done at my fiancé’s parish which we attend together on a weekly basis)…

anyways, I am having a hard time deciding on a confirmation name…I already have three names not including my maiden surname…do adults in the RCIA program actually pick a confirmation name (I know when I prepared my grade 7’s last year, they did) and if so, how can I go about picking one?..there are so many saints out there, that it’s all overwhelming…

I will be attending the final few meetings so perhaps I could get more assistance there, but thought I’d throw this out there and see what everyone else could offer…

Yes, RCIA people do pick a Saint that resonates with them.
It’s not a legal name, it’s only for you in your spiritual life.
Think of a Saint whose story inspires you…there are many to choose from as you have said. You can google any profession and find the patron/patroness. You say you teach in a Catholic School: consider Katherine Drexel, Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton, St. John Neumann, so many great educators. Indeed, John Paul II.
Congratulations on your Confirmation and your upcoming marriage!

This. Also, you can “re-use” one of your baptismal names for your confirmation name, but I didn’t. Adding a new patron saint was an opportunity I didn’t want to miss :thumbsup:

Yes, you *can *choose a Confirmation name.

But you don’t have to.