Confirmation sponsor

What are the qualifications for someone to be a confirmation sponsor for someone in RCIA? Is having major depression a reason to disqualify someone from being a sponsor?

I am new to the RCIA team. During one of our meetings this summer we were discussing parishioners who might be able to fill in as sponsors for those in RCIA who don’t have one. One person came to my mind immediately, but the rest of the team (and the DRE) dismissed my suggestion with rather rude personal comments about this person. This isn’t the first time someone on the parish staff has been made rude comments about people while I’m around. I am so disappointed with the lack of charity that I am seriously thinking of leaving the RCIA team and possibly changing parishes.

If you plan on leaving, then there’s no problem staying a while and working toward change.

With humility, confront your group with their uncharitable remarks that have led to uncharitable actions.

:slight_smile:

In a spiritual way, Blessed Mother Teresa suffered from ‘major depression’, and she overcame it with charity.

This lady could easily be placed with a Catholic who is attending RCIA to receive Confirmation.

The person needs to be over 16, a fully initiated Catholic, not the parent of the candidate, and a practicing Catholic (attends Mass, if married then married in the Church, etc.)

Depression isn’t a disqualification. However, you also want to be sensitive to the candidate’s needs. Is this person in a position to be a mentor and friend to someone coming into the Church?