Confused about my marriage

I am new to this, so please try to be understanding. I am catholic and deeply respect the sacredness of marriage; but for many years, in fact perhaps since the beginning of my marriage, I have often thought of leaving my husband.

Our marriage was not conventional. I dated him for over 5 years. It was on and off. A very tumultous relationship. I was young,happy and innocent, he was older,street smart and experienced. At first this intrigued me. However, signs went up in my head to be weary and keep it really slow. He however, was ready to be serious. He waited for some time but insisted and pursued me. I resorted to giving him a chance and that is when it all started.

To make a long story short, I became pregnant and was not sure of what I was to do. I decided to marry him. We were excited and happy. It didn’t last long. Soon after the marriage we experienced serious problems. His family and mine had a fight and put us in between. He naturally took his side and I was trying to be the voice of reason. He and his family ostracized me; forcing me to take sides. I was not allowed to see my family. I began to rebel. At this he became verbally abusive. When his parents were around they joined in the taunting and insults. Keep in mind, that I am pregnant.

I was distraugt and I wanted to leave him then before our child was born. He threatened me. I was afraid. My family didn’t keep in touch with me because they did not want to interfere. I was alone and distressed. Only my LORD was there for me.